Students Honored for Academic Excellence

April 23, 2018

College Holds 37th annual Student Honors Convocation.

Wilmington College recognized those whom Dr. Erika Goodwin described as “among our best and brightest” Sunday (April 22) at the 37th annual Student Honors Convocation.

PICTURED: Dr. Michael Goldcamp, associate professor of chemistry, praises Brandi James for her outstanding work in chemistry.

The event featured the presentation of major academic awards and the Robert E. Lucas Leadership Award, along with naming the Quaker Impact Award recipients and Green Key Honor Society inductees. (The Lucas, Quaker Impact and Green Key recipients are noted in separate news stories.)

Goodwin, vice president for academic affairs and dean of the faculty, presided over the ceremony with assistance from President Jim Reynolds and Sigrid Solomon, vice president for student affairs.

“We are so proud of the accomplishments of our students,” Goodwin said. Reynolds added that those accomplishments “reinforce our belief in the transformational nature of a Wilmington College education.”

Recipients of the top academic awards in WC’s agriculture programs are: Agricultural Business, Emily Elfers; Agronomy, Heather Mescher; Animal Science, Emily Ann Brautigam; and Plant, Environmental and Soil Science, Brianna Kay Matthies.

In the Biology, Chemistry and Mathematics areas, the recipients include: Environmental Science, Elizabeth A. Knab; Health Science, Lindsey Rosselott; Life Science, Tiffany Scheadler; Self-designed major in Biotechnology, Danielle D. Butler; Chemistry, Brandi Alexis James; and Mathematics, Samantha Glish.

Award winners in the Business Administration area are: Accounting, Tara Ann Karnes and Business Administration, Samantha Glish.

In the Education area, recipients are: Adolescent-Young Adult, Jessica D. Clark; Agriculture Education, Taylor Bergman; Early Childhood, Samantha Rowe; Education Studies, April Kristen Neff; K-12 Intervention Specialist, Rian Cassidy Adams; and Middle Childhood, Joshua Myles Stackhouse.

The Fine Arts area recipients are: Art, Molly Pratt and Communication Arts, Meranda Wilson, while, in the Humanities, Shiloh Day received the award for English; History, Michael Noah Kleem; and Spanish, Carly Pritchard.

In Social Sciences, the winners include: Criminal Justice, Allyson R. Schaefer; Political Science, Mathew Clarence Hursey and Maraya Ann Leppert Wahl; Psychology, Travis Scheadler; and Social Work, Jamie Nichole Louderback.

Finally, in the Sport Sciences area: Athletic Training, Shelby Paige Mullikin; Exercise Science, Andrew Hall; Sport Management, Tyler Brummett; and David Henry received the Dr. Elizabeth S. Kinzig Award.