Scholarships Awarded in the Natural Sciences

December 15, 2020

15 Math/Science Students Recognized with Special Awards for 2020-21 Academic Year

The Wilmington College Natural Sciences Area has announced special student scholarships for the 2020-21 academic year. These awards, which are available as a result of endowed gifts to the College, are specifically earmarked for students in the fields of biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics.

PICTURED: The mathematics, biology, chemistry and physics areas are housed in the Center for the Sciences & Agriculture.

Dr. Russell Kincaid, professor of mathematics and physics and coordinator of the Natural Sciences Area, noted that faculty members within these departments selected qualifying students who “exemplify dedication, enthusiasm and high academic performance within these disciplines,”

This year’s winners include 15 students.

The Math Department awarded the Martha Haines Scholarship to Rileigh Lefever, a junior with math/education majors. In addition, Lefever was recognized with the Lawrence and Ruby Adamson Scholarship, along with senior math majors Julio Olivarez and Tyler McManus.

The Chemistry Department selected five students for prizes. Junior chemistry/math major Sam Foote, senior chemistry major Abigail Lozano and senior chemistry major Colton Williams were all awarded Jack Persinger Memorial Scholarships. Senior chemistry major Mackenzie Leon was awarded an Orville Rogers Scholarship, and senior chemistry/biology major Alora Pratt was awarded a Ruth Esther Fisher-Durham Scholarship.

The Biology Department nominated seven students for honors.

Senior biology major Margaret Hover was awarded both the D. Sheley and F.L. Laymon Scholarship and the Ruth Esther Fisher-Durham Scholarship. Junior biology major Brittany Fraysier, senior biology major Tieara Saling, senior biology major Elena Suggs and junior biology major Mary McConnell also received Ruth Esther Fisher-Durham Scholarships. In addition, Saling and junior biology major Austin Turner received Frank Hazard Awards. Turner was also recognized with a John W Robinson Scholarship and a Jack Persinger Memorial Scholarship. Junior biology major Spencer Wilcox received a John W. Robinson Scholarship and an Orville Rogers Scholarship.

Kincaid said the Natural Sciences Area continues to bring in excellent students who deserve the special recognition and financial rewards inherent in these awards and scholarships.

“These students work hard on their studies, and are active in the department doing research, tutoring, and serving as lab assistants,” he added. “They manage all of their academic and extracurricular activities and manage to exhibit true excellence in their academic endeavors.”