Students Honored for Academic Excellence

May 1, 2019

Faculty Laud Top Students in Respective Majors

Wilmington College recognized those whom Dr. Steve Szeghi described as “among our best and brightest” Monday (April 29) at the 38th annual Student Honors Convocation.

PICTURED: An animated Dr. Ann Daniels, associate professor of history, enthusiastically speaks about Emma Bryn Kelley Hast, who received the award for top self-designed major, which highlights historic preservation.

The event featured the presentation of major academic awards and the Robert E. Lucas Leadership Award, along with naming the Quaker Impact Award recipients and Green Key Honor Society inductees. (The Lucas Award recipients were noted in a separate news story.)

Szeghi, interim vice president for academic affairs and dean of the faculty, presided over the ceremony with assistance from President Jim Reynolds and Sigrid Solomon, vice president for student affairs.

“We are so proud of the accomplishments of our students,” Szeghi said, while Reynolds added that those accomplishments “reinforce our belief in the transformational nature of a Wilmington College education.”

The academic major awards included:

Agriculture Area: Agricultural Business — Brooke LeeAnn Fornshell; Agricultural Communications — Hannah Lynn Schrader; Agronomy — Sam Richer; Animal Science — Calla Henry; Equine Business Management — Madison McConn; and Plant, Environmental & Soil Science — Logan Dyer.

Biology/Chemistry/Mathematics Area: Biology/Environmental Science — Courtney Hall; Biology/ Health Science — Chloe Harless and Savannah J. Hooper; Biology/Life Science — Alexis Nicole Rhodes; Chemistry — Spencer B. Lanham; and Mathematics — Haley L. Werring.

Business Administration Area: Accounting — Tiffany Zwiesler; and Business Administration — Jason Altmayer.

Education Area: Adolescent-Young Adult — Haley L. Werring; Agriculture Education — Suzanne N. Kimball; Early Childhood — Megan Lyn Wiederhold; Early Childhood Intervention Specialist — Heather M. Strong; Education Studies — Alyssa Victoria Gomez; K-12 Intervention Specialist — Crystal Walters; and Middle Childhood — Austin James Wilson.

Fine Arts Area: Art — Molly Howard; and Communication Arts — Mackenzie E. Brown and Hillary Mitchell.

Humanities Area: English — Breana N. Fair; History — Brooklyn Leeann Higgins; Religion & Philosophy — Emily Robnolte; Spanish — Ellyse Jordyn Herr; and Self-Designed Major/Historic Preservation — Emma Bryn Kelley Hast.

Social Sciences Area: Ceriminal Justice — Rachel O’Donnell; Psychology — Clarissa Smith; and Social Work — Casey L. Hess.

Sport Sciences Area: Athletic Training — Rachel Reinhart; Exercise Science — Mackenzie Campbell; Sport Management — Eric Wathen; and the Dr. Elizabeth S. Kinzig Award — Katelyn Combs.