Section Menu

2016-2017 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2016
Thursday – Sunday, August 18 – 21 New Student Orientation
Thursday, August 18, 8:30 AM Residence Halls Open to New Students
Sunday, August 21, 10:00 AM Residence Halls Open to All Students
Monday, August 22 Class Begin – Full-term and Abbreviated Session 1
Tuesday, August 23 Last Day of Drop/Add Period for Abbreviated Session 1
Friday, August 26 Last Day of Drop/Add Period for Full-Semester
Monday, September 5 Labor Day Holiday
Tuesday, September 20 Last Day to Drop Abbreviated Session I Term Classes
Saturday, October 8 Homecoming
Monday, October 10 Last Day of Abbreviated Session I Classes
Tuesday, October 11 Westheimer Peace Symposium – No Class Day
Thursday, October 13 Abbreviated Session I Grades Due
Monday, October 17 First Day of Abbreviated Session II Term
Tuesday, October 18 Last Day of Drop/Add Period of Abbreviated Session II
Tuesday, October 25 Last Day to Drop Full-Semester Classes
Monday, November 14 Last Day to Drop Abbreviate Session II Classes
Wednesday-Friday, November 23 – 25 Thanksgiving Holiday
Wednesday, December 7 Last Day of Classes – Full Semester and Abbreviated Session II
Thursday, December 8 Study Day/Thursday Night Class Exam 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Friday, Monday, Tuesday, December 9, 12 – 13 Final Examinations
Tuesday, December 13, 9:30 PM Residence Halls Close
Friday, December 16, 9:00 AM Final Grades Due to Academic Records
Spring Semester 2017
Wednesday, January 11 New Student Orientation
Wednesday, January 11, NOON Residence Halls Open to All Students
Thursday, January 12 Classes Begin – Full Semester and Abbreviated Session I
Friday, January 13 Class Begin – Full-term and Abbreviated Session 1
Monday, January 16 MLK Holiday
Wednesday, January 18 Last Day of Drop/Add Period for Full Semester
Friday, February 10 Last Day to Drop Abbreviated Session I Classes
Thursday, March 2 First Day of Abbreviated Session II/Abbreviated Session I Grades Due
Thursday, March 9 Last Day of Drop/Add Period for Abbreviated Session II
Monday – Friday, March 13 – 17 Spring Break
Monday, March 27 Last Day to Drop Full Semester Classes
Friday, April 14 Good Friday Holiday
Wednesday, May 3 Last Day of Classes – Full Semester and Abbreviated Session II
Thursday, May 4 Study Day/Thursday Night Class Exam 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Friday, Monday, Tuesday, May 5, 8 – 9 Final Examinations
Tuesday, May 9, 9:30 PM Residence Halls Close for Students Not Graduating
Wednesday, May 10, NOON Final Degree Candidate Grades and Abbreviated Session II Grades due to Academic Records
Friday, May 12 Baccalaureate
Saturday, May 13 Commencement
Saturday, May 13, 5:00 PM Residence Halls Close for Graduates
Tuesday, May 16, 9:00 AM All Other Final Grades Due to Academic Records